Finding Theory of Semiconductor Lasers at Undergrad Level

In summary, the conversation is about a person asking for recommendations on a good source for the theory of lasers, specifically semiconductor lasers, at a second year undergraduate level. Several suggestions are given, including websites and books such as "Laser FAQ," "Lasers and Electro-Optics" by Davis, "Laser Engineering" by Kuhn, "Principles of Lasers" by Orazio Svelto, and "Lasers" by Anthony E. Siegman. The person also asks for web addresses about the history of gas lasers.
antiicon
Hey guys,
this is my first time posting here (so if there's already a thread about lasers, please direct me there)

Does anyone know a good source for the theory of lasers (specifically semiconductor lasers) at a second year undergrad level? I've looked at a number of books including Laser Fundamentals (Silvfast), Lasers: Theory and Practice (Hawkes/Latimer) but they both seem to be a little too advanced (for getting though them in a short period of time anyway)...anyone know a book/site that's to the point? I'd really appreciate it :)

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF antiicon!

Try Howstuffworks for the very basics. Then maybe move on to laser FAQ

hope this helps...

I use "Lasers and Electro-Optics" by Davis.

Claude.

If you're not interested in a highly mathematical treatment, I might suggest Kuhn's Laser Engineering. There is very little quantum as this book is tailored for engineering applications. It is easily accesible, and provides a nice overview.
TOC:
1.) Introduction to Lasers 2.) Energy States and Gain 3.) The Fabry-Perot Etalon 4.)Transverse Mode Properties 5.) Gain Saturation 6.) Transient Properties 7.) Introduction to Nonlinear Optics 8.) Supportive Technologies 9.) Conventional Gas Lasers 10.) Conventional Solid-State Lasers. 11) Transitional-Metal Solid-State Lasers 12.) Other Major Commercial Lasers

antiicon said: