Finding a basis for the linear transformation S(A)=A^T?

In summary, you can find ##S_\alpha## by flattening each 2x2 matrix into a 4-vector and using these vectors as columns in a 4x4 transformation matrix. This can be achieved through the use of the vec() or flatten() function.
Eclair_de_XII

Homework Statement

"Find ##S_\alpha## where ##S: M_{2×2}(ℝ)→M_{2×2}(ℝ)## is defined by ##S(A)=A^T##.

Homework Equations

##A^T=\begin{pmatrix}
a_{11} & a_{21} \\
a_{12} & a_{22}
\end{pmatrix}##

##\alpha= \{
{\begin{pmatrix}
1 & 0 \\
0 & 0 \end{pmatrix},
\begin{pmatrix}
0 & 0 \\
1 & 0 \end{pmatrix},
\begin{pmatrix}
0 & 1 \\
0 & 0 \end{pmatrix},
\begin{pmatrix}
0 & 0 \\
0 & 1 \end{pmatrix}} \}##

The Attempt at a Solution

I've found ##S_\alpha## before where the vectors can be expressed as columns, but i have no experience with finding the transformation matrices for actual matrices. Can anyone help me? This is as far as I got:

##S(A)=A^T=\begin{pmatrix}
a_{11} & a_{21} \\
a_{12} & a_{22} \end{pmatrix}=a_{11}\begin{pmatrix}1 & 0 \\
0 & 0 \end{pmatrix}+a_{12}\begin{pmatrix}
0 & 0 \\
1 & 0 \end{pmatrix}+a_{21}\begin{pmatrix}
0 & 1 \\
0 & 0 \end{pmatrix}+a_{22}\begin{pmatrix}
0 & 0 \\
0 & 1 \end{pmatrix}
##

How would I form this into a four-dimensional basis?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Flatten each of the 2 x 2 matrices into a 4-vector by concatenating its columns, eg
$$flatten\left(A^T\right) = \langle a_{11},a_{12},a_{21},a_{22} \rangle$$
Then the flattened versions of the four matrices on the RHS of your last equation, suitably re-ordered based on the order of their coefficients in ##flatten(A)##, become the columns of the 4 x 4 transformation matrix.

Okay, I solved it. Thanks for telling me about that function...

Note: in math this function is typically called the

vec() operator and has interesting uses with Kronecker products.