Fast random access of elements in a large file

In summary, the fastest way to access 16384 numbers from a single data file is to use an SSD and duplicate the file with the format changed to make the accesses contiguous.
DrFurious
Hello all,
I have a question concerning the best way to access random elements in a large file. I have a single data file of numbers, 12G in size with dimensions 1024x768x16384. My goal is to, as quickly as possible, load, say 16384 of those numbers into memory. Assume these numbers are not aligned on the disk.

What is the fastest way of doing this? I've tried using HDF5, lseek-ing with my own program in C, etc, but the best I can do is about 3 minutes for this amount. Does anyone have ideas on the fastest approach?

Technology news on Phys.org
I'm not an expert on this, but here's a few ideas:

1.)use a computer with enough RAM to load the whole file. If this is a one-off problem that doesn't justify putting a lot more RAM on your machine, or if your computer can't accommodate ~>=16GB, Amazon cloud services rents such computers pretty cheaply.

2.) Use an SSD. Most of the time spent is almost certainly in seek time, which will be cut dramatically with an SSD, and an SSD will make your system faster for other purposes, too.

3.) Duplicate the file but with the format changed to make your accesses contiguous on the disk - say a 16384x1024x768 format. With limited RAM, assuming this is a stack of 2^14 images, you might cut down on the time needed to do this by reading a contiguous strip of each of the images in the stack, (likely n lines of 1024 pixels) with the strips as large as possible to fit 2^14 of them in RAM, reorder the format, write back to the new file and then start another batch of strips. This would cost ~1 seek per strip rather than 1 per pixel, and should be much faster than an pixel-stack-by-pixel-stack approach to reordering, assuming the original file isn't hopelessly fragmented.