Exploring Vibrational Modes in Rifle Barrel Design

In summary: I don't think you would see the same resonance with a suppressed rifle as you would with an unsuppressed rifle. I think the increased mass would dampen the resonance.In summary, In order to simulate a gun shot, you would need to do a full fluid-structure interaction problem, model the bullet, do a multiphysics run, and determine natural frequencies and modes.
Claws
I am not a weapons designer, this is purely to satisfy my own curiosity :)

I would like to simulate a gun shot in a rifle barrel and determine the mode and freq. of vibration using a FE program (Code_Aster if anyone is interested), but I don't really know what transient load to apply.

What components go into making the barrel vibrate? Shape of course, boundry cond. i.e. barrel to receiver connection etc. - but how would you describe the discharge of a round?

Thanks in advance.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Ah, I JUST ran through a similar tutorial of this for the new version of ANSYS. Anyways, I'm going to assume that you are trying to model some sort of automatic gun that can cycle enough times such that resonance could come into play.

Regardless, here's what you kind of do. You'll need to do a full fluid-structure interaction problem. You'll have to either use a combusion model, or a source term to model the bullet (it'll be MUCH MUCH easier than actually modeling the bullet). From there, you do a multiphysics run where you're sending pressures, temperatures, and forces to the structural analysis and getting back displacements and temperatures.

From this, you can do a pre-stressed modal analysis and obtain natural frequencies and modes. At this point you can determine which modes may be of interest. You have a definite applied force, so you can then know which modes need to be payed attention to.