Exploring the MUSIC Algorithm to Understand its Mathematical Derivations

In summary, the author is studying the MUSIC algorithm and is having trouble understanding the mathematical derivations in the original Schmidt paper. They mention that the derivation of vector x is clear but have difficulty understanding the auto-correlation matrix S. The paper defines S as a factorization of Lambda and S0, leading to confusion about how to calculate S0 from the model of noise. They also mention other papers that summarize the algorithm differently and ask for the name of the Schmidt paper.
elibj123
I'm studying the MUSIC algorithm in order to implement it in some project of mine, but I have some difficulties understanding the mathematical derivations done in the original Schmidt paper.
For those of you who have access to this paper, I'll appreciate your time and help.

The author begins with a vector x=Af+w, which's derivation is pretty clear to me. Then he proceeds to define the auto-correlation matrix S=xx*

The first result is understandable:
S=Aff*A*+ww*

But then he defines S as:
[tex]S=APA*+\lambda S_{0} [/tex]

Now, there are some points later that I don't understand, but this seems to be the core problem:

How does he arrive at the factorization of Lambda and S0?

In the summary of the algorithm, the second step is to calculate the eigenvalues (the Lambda's) of S in the metric of S0. So more specifically: how do I calculate S0 from my model of noise?

In other papers that summarize MUSIC the algorithm was to simply calculate eigenvalues of S (in the euclidean metric). I've ran some MATLAB simulations and it worked fine, but I guess that a Gaussian white noise model really coincides with S0=I.

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org
What's the name of the Schmidt paper?

Related to Exploring the MUSIC Algorithm to Understand its Mathematical Derivations

1. What is the MUSIC algorithm?