Exploring Spherical Harmonics in MATLAB for Programmers

In summary: I'll definitely look into them!In summary, the spherical harmonic function is a product of the Associated Legendre functions and a phase factor. You can approximate derivatives by differences.
scarecrow
I would appreciate some input about how to program spherical harmonics in Matlab.

http://mathworld.wolfram.com/SphericalHarmonic.html

I want to program a double summation that looks like this.

[tex]

G(\Omega_{1},t_{1}|\Omega_{0}) = \sum_{l=0}^\infty \sum_{m=-l}^l \alpha^m_{l}(t_{1}) [\Gamma^m_{l}(\Omega_{0})]^* \Gamma^m_{l}(\Omega_{1})
[/tex]

where [tex]\Gamma^m_{l}(\Omega_{i})[/tex] is a spherical harmonic and [tex]\alpha^m_{l}[/tex] depends on l, m, and t.

Is there a spherical harmonic function in Matlab? I couldn't find anything except the Legendre polynomials.

Physics news on Phys.org
This is a follow up question. I'm a beginner in Matlab, so please excuse my ignorance if these questions seem stupid. How would you program higher-order derivatives into for loops? Is there a syntax in Matlab for higher-order derivatives?

for l = 0:5
for m = -l:l

[tex] \frac {d^{l+m}} {dx^{l+m}} (x^2-1)^l[/tex]

Do a search on the MATLAB site, they have an abundance of code for you to look at...

Hey
Derivatives can be approximated by differences which is done by the command diff(x,k) where "x" is a vector and k is the order. Hence k=1 corresponds to the first order derivative of x.
Maybe this can help you further.

eys_physics said:
Hey
Derivatives can be approximated by differences which is done by the command diff(x,k) where "x" is a vector and k is the order. Hence k=1 corresponds to the first order derivative of x.
Maybe this can help you further.

True, but you have to be very very careful with numerical derivatives (they are a local entity as opposed to numerical integration which is more global in nature). Many special functions are better evaluated using recurrence relations.

thanks for the tips.