Exploring Quantum Mechanics: Bra-Ket Representation & Completeness Relation

In summary, the compleatness relation is used in quantum mechanics to represent the dual space of a state in terms of the same basis used for the state. When expanding a state in a basis, the corresponding bra can only be expanded using a different index in order to accurately represent the dual space. In certain cases, such as using an orthogonal basis of eigenkets, the same index may be used for both the ket and bra, but it is generally recommended to use different indices to avoid confusion and accurately represent the dual space.
K space
I'm new to the concepts of quanum mechanics and the bra-ket representation in general.
I've seen in the textbook that the compleatness relation is used all the time when working with the bra and kets. I'm a bit confused about how this relation is being used when applied more than once in a single expression, and why it's always applied as summations/inegrals over different eigenvalues then.

For example, consider:

[itex]<ψ|\hat X|ψ>[/itex]

Expanding ψ in a basis:

[itex]|ψ>=\sum_{a}c_a|a>[/itex] and [itex]<ψ|=\sum_{a}c_a<a|[/itex]
which gives

[itex]<ψ|\hat X|ψ>=\sum_{a}c_ac^*_a<a|\hat X|a>=\sum_{a}c_ac^*_aa<a|a>[/itex]

In the book they would insted have two different sums for the bra and the ket:

[itex]<ψ|\hat X|ψ>=\sum_{a}\sum_{b}c_ac^*_b<b|\hat X|a>=\sum_{a}\sum_{b}c_ac^*_ba<b|a>[/itex]

Will these two expressions be equal each other? If that's the case, why is it always introduced summations over different eigenvales as in the latter case? It feels like I'm missing something fundamental here.

Physics news on Phys.org
K space said:
I'm new to the concepts of quanum mechanics and the bra-ket representation in general.