Exploring Properties of Pauli Matrices

In summary: Jx is a 3*3 matrix but it does not follow the Pauli matrix σ1. To understand why, you can look at the commutation relations of Jx, Jy, Jz - the so-called angular momentum algebra of rotations.
shounakbhatta
Hello,

I am new to this:

Taking the first Pauli Matrix:

σ1=[0 1
1 0]

Doing the transpose it becomes:

[0 1
1 0]

So is it a unitary matrix?

Similarly
σ2= [0 -i
i 0]

Doing a transpose

=[0 i
[-i 0]

Does it mean the complex conjugates are the same?

-- Shounak

Physics news on Phys.org
A matrix M is unitary iff

[tex]M^\dagger M = MM^\dagger = 1[/tex]

A matrix M is hermitian iff

[tex]M^\dagger = M[/tex]

with

[tex]M^\dagger = {M^\ast}^t[/tex]

So for the Pauli matrix σ² you have

[tex]M = \begin{pmatrix} 0 & -i \\ i & 0 \end{pmatrix} [/tex]

[tex]M^\dagger = {\begin{pmatrix} 0 & -i \\ i & 0 \end{pmatrix}^\ast}^t = {\begin{pmatrix} 0 & i \\ -i & 0 \end{pmatrix}}^t = {\begin{pmatrix} 0 & -i \\ i & 0 \end{pmatrix}} = M [/tex]

[tex]MM^\dagger = M^2 = 1[/tex]

The same applies to other Pauli matrices, so every a Pauli matrix σi is both hermitian and unitary

Since Tom answered the question, I'll just make a comment about something that I find useful to know.

Note that the diagonal elements of a hermitian matrix must be real. The Pauli matrices are also traceless, i.e the sum of the diagonal elements is 0. Every complex 2×2 traceless hermitian matrix can be written in the form
$$\begin{pmatrix} x_3 & x_1-ix_2\\ x_1+ix_2 & -x_3\end{pmatrix},$$ where the ##x_i## are real numbers, and this can clearly can also be written as ##\sum_i x_i\sigma_i##. So the Pauli matrices are basis vectors for the vector space of complex 2×2 traceless hermitian matrices. If you can remember this, it's pretty easy to remember what they look like.

Last edited:
If you add the 2*2 identity matrix you get a basis for 2*2 hermitean matrices (no longer traceless)