Exploring New Frontiers in Physics: A Teacher's Journey Back to Graduate School

• Thread starter mrdenagy
  • Start date
In summary, the article discusses a teacher's decision to return to graduate school in order to gain a deeper understanding of physics and explore new frontiers in the field. The teacher shares their experiences and challenges in balancing work, family, and school, as well as the valuable insights and knowledge gained through their studies. The article highlights the importance of continuous learning and growth for educators and the impact it can have on their teaching and students' learning. Overall, the teacher's journey back to graduate school serves as an inspiring example of pursuing one's passions and pushing the boundaries of knowledge.
mrdenagy
Hello all!

I am a graduate of Florida State University where I majored in Physics & Astrophysics. This was essentially a complete undergraduate physics degree (120 credits) with additional coursework in Astrophysics (12 credits). After graduating I attended graduate school at FSU and managed to complete half of my master's degree while participating in Astronomy research (which I loved). After a while, life got in the way, and I had to abandon my pursuit of a PhD for personal reasons.

Seven years later and I am now a high school physics teacher who longs to return to the time when I was doing more advanced physics on a daily basis. Don't misunderstand, I absolutely love teaching physics at the high school level, and being a teacher has forever changed my life in many positive ways. However, while my goals in life have shifted over the years, I have always held onto the idea of returning to graduate school and completing my masters degree. Perhaps even a PhD.