Exploring Graduate Schools for Space Technology Research

In summary, the conversation is about a student majoring in mechanical engineering who plans on obtaining a PhD in graduate school. Their interests lie in fluid mechanics, heat transfer, and applied mathematics, and they are looking for a school that will prepare them for a career in research related to space technology and exploration. Other students offer suggestions such as looking into specific areas within the field and researching labs associated with potential schools. They also mention the possibility of finding a company or school that will provide funding for graduate studies.
JD88
Hi,

I am currently majoring in mechanical engineering and next year after I graduate I plan on going to graduate school to obtain my PhD. My interests are fluid mechanics, heat transfer and applied mathematics. I would really like to go to a school that will prepare me for a career in research involving my interests being applied to space technology and exploration.

I am wondering if anyone has any suggestions about schools and what kind of research can involve my interests and space.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
You need to look into what you want to do. Heat transfer and fluid mechanics are large areas. Look into them and see exactly what you want to do regarding them.

My advice is to look at the labs associated with the schools you are considering online. Most labs have their own webpage which provides more detailed information on the projects they are currently working on. You can also contact the principal investigator for the lab to see what sort of funding he or she has available for graduate students who are admitted. I was a bit lost when I came to grad school in terms of finding a research focus, but I managed to find something that is both interesting and relevant to current problems in industry (which will hopefully lead to a job post-graduation). Hopefully you will do the same!

Good luck!