Equation of an Elliptical Orbit for a Moon around a Planet

In summary, The conversation is about determining an equation for the elliptical orbit of Oberon around Uranus using data from four nights. The main issue is figuring out how to apply the RA and Dec coordinates to the equation of an ellipse. The eccentricity of the ellipse fitted to the data is much higher than expected, potentially due to the significant change in angular separation between Uranus and Oberon. The inclination of Oberon's orbit is also mentioned as a possible factor. The person is seeking help in finding where they went wrong in their calculations.
farore
I am kind of new to astronomy and I have a few questions..

I need to be able to determine an equation expressing the elliptical orbit of Oberon around Uranus. I have four nights of data showing Oberon in different positions relative to Uranus. I am able to calculate the RA and Dec for both Uranus and Oberon from these frames (standard stars are on frame).

I just need to be able to determine the semi-major axis of the orbit so that I can determine the eccentricity. What I am most stuck on is how to apply my RA and Dec coordinates to an equation of an ellipse.

I saw a similar discussion in this thread (astrometry of elliptical orbits) but it was for asteroids and at first glance the analysis involved seemed more complicated than what I was going for.

Thanks for any help.

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Nevermind about the first bit, I figured out that I needed to express the change in RA versus the change in Dec of Oberon with respect to Uranus to get an ellipse.

However, with my data points the eccentricity of the ellipse I fit to the data is on the order of .9 when it should be around .008 or so.