Engineering ball sorting project, static electricity

In summary, the student is working on a project involving sorting balls of different materials. He has found that two of the balls are similar, but the two remaining balls are of different materials and he is unsure if his assumption that the path of the acetal balls would be unchanged was realistic.
matthew.mre
Hello all,

I am an engineering student currently undertaking a project at univeristy.

It involves the sorting of 4 different balls of which I have deduced how to sort 2 of them leaving just 2 types of balls to sort...

The remaining two are of identical size, 10mm in radius, and are Nylon 66 (density = 1.1g/cm^2, weight = 4.608g) and Acetal (density = 1.4g/cm^2, weight = 5.864g).

After researching the two, I have found that they are both pretty similar. Nylon 66 has got static properties and Acetal is made from polar molecules...

I was thinking maybe if both balls were passed through a tube lined with a sutable material, the nylon balls would become negatively (statically) charged with the acetal balls remaining neutral (being polar). Then the balls could be made to pass through something which produces charge like a capacitor, therefore the negatively charged nylon balls would be attracted to the positive plate of the capacitor therefore changing their paths. The paths of the acetal balls would be unaffected.

Having no experience with that sort of stuff I was wondering whether or not this theory seems realistic or whether anyone has attempted a similar feat? I'm not sure my assumption that the path of the acetal balls would be unchanged was realistic? and I'm not sure if the capacitor could be made with a gap approx 20mm or whether or not that was too large?

The other options would be to do something involving centripetal force or a counter ballanced see saw.

Many thanks :smile:

Matthew

Engineering news on Phys.org