Energy Conversion Homework: Equations and Attempt at Solution

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of torque and its relation to mechanical work in a system. The participants explore different equations and methods for computing torque, including using the average value of L over 90 degrees and formulas for Φmax and delta reluctance. The conversation also mentions the factor of 1/8 being an approximation and potentially being pulled out of the air by a professor.
CoolDude420

Homework Statement

7064311f1e.jpg

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

b98bd4d11b.png

I'm quite new to these chapters and I can't seem to get my head around the theory and especially this question. That's the solution above. Where does the T_max = 1/8... equation come from? I understand that the mechanical work done in this system is the torque. And the derivative of work is power. I'm quite confused

Physics news on Phys.org
I got an answer by:
computing difference in stored magnetic energy as i/2/2 x (Lmax - Lmin))
and equating it to work done by torque over 90 degrees of rotor angle.
To compute i I used v = iωL.
I used the average value of L over the 90 degrees.
I can't really justify using averaged L, nor why the result should give max. torque rather than averaged. But maybe you can use this as a guide. My answer was 12.5% high.

(Were you given some kind of formula relating max. torque to Φmax and delta reluctance? You could compute Φmax from v = N dΦ/dt = ωNΦ. Realize that all these formulas are approximations).

I think the 1/8 factor is some kind of average number pulled out of the air by your professor.

It can be fairly accurately computed that
0π/2 T(θ)dθ = N2Φ2max(1/L1 - 1/L2)
= Φ2max(R1 - R2)
where R is reluctance and T is torque;
but the question is how to apportion T(θ) between θ=0 and θ=π/2. Depending on how you do I imagine the factor 1/8 could be conjured up.

Related to Energy Conversion Homework: Equations and Attempt at Solution