EM Wave Equation in Higher Dimensions: Gravitation Text

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of equations 22.19d and 22.25 from the book "Gravitation" for discussing the electromagnetic wave equation and its applicability in different dimensions. The speaker is wondering if these equations hold true for dimensions other than 3+1 and if they are physically meaningful in curved space-times. The speaker also mentions the need for differential geometry and topology in higher dimensions.
snowstorm69
Caution: I'm new at this stuff.
On page 573 of Gravitation (Misner, Thorne, Wheeler), they write down what I think is the electromagnetic wave equation for a discussion on Optics, "Next insert the vector potential (22.25) into the source-free wave equation (22.19d):"
I am wondering if the equations mentioned, 22.19d, and 22.25, are applicable to any dimension, for example 4+1 dimensions as in Kaluza-Klein theory, and higher dimensions?

I ask this because I was wondering how to write the good ole equation for a propagating electromagnetic wave in higher dimensions, such as 4+1 or higher. I have read that the curl cannot be written in some higher dimensions in the customary way at least, without going to differential geometry and topology. And so I was wondering if these 2 equations, written with tensors, hold for higher dimensions?
Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org