Elliptical orbit, velocity at aphelion

In summary, the student is looking for a formula to find the velocity at aphelion, and is unsure if the gravitational force of the Sun should play a role. He is also unsure if the answer is much simpler than he is making it out to be.
xxfallacyxx
Hello everyone! Should be obvious it's my first time here. I'm looking for assistance not for myself, but for my girlfriend. She's got a college science class that up until now I was able to help her with, but unfortunately my physics knowledge (one year in high school, eight years ago now) did not cover finding the velocity in an elliptical orbit.

Homework Statement

An asteroid in an elliptical orbit about the Sun travels at 1.2 x 106 m/s at perihelion (the point of closest approach) at a distance of 2.0 x 108 km from the Sun. How fast is it traveling, in m/s, at aphelion (the most distant point), which is 8.0 x 108 km from the Sun? Hint: Use conservation of momentum.

I'm hoping that it's just something simple, something that maybe she missed in her notes. From what I can tell:

The problem is looking for the velocity of the asteroid at the aphelion of it's orbit, in m/s²

We're given the both the distance at perihelion (2 x 108 km) and the distance at aphelion (8 x 108 km), as well as the velocity at perihelion (1.2 x 106 m/s).

Further the problem states the asteroid is traveling around "the Sun", which to my mind signifies the problem uses our own sun.

Homework Equations