Electromagnetic induction near a generator

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of inducing current in a wire coil by placing it in a magnetic field or near a generator. The person asking the question is a high school student and is curious about the effects of the magnetic field on the coil. The other person explains that while it is possible in theory, well-designed generators and transformers use iron cores to guide the magnetic field for maximum efficiency, making the stray magnetic field too small to be usable. They also suggest using a small motor from a battery-powered toy to generate a small amount of current.
silvercrow
Hi , i am a high school student ( class 10 ) and after reading about electromagnetic induction iwas thinking about what if u place a wire coil connected to a circuit in the magnetic field / near a generator ? Because electricity is turned of for a fraction of a second there will be great variation of magnetic field which would induce current in the coil ? Am i incorrect ?

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes, in principle. However, well-designed generators and transformers use iron cores to guide magnetic fields lines for maximum efficiency so that the stray magnetic field is very small and not really usable. It may be measureable, though.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magnetic_core

M Quack said:
Yes, in principle. However, well-designed generators and transformers use iron cores to guide magnetic fields lines for maximum efficiency so that the stray magnetic field is very small and not really usable. It may be measureable, though.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magnetic_core

oo thanks buddy but tell me how much rotation speed of magnets i need to induce a small amount of current like lighting a really small bulb ?

Connect an LED to a small motor from a battery powered toy.