Electrical vs Computer Engineering

In summary: Both electrical and computer engineering can work on power transmission and three-phase motors. However, computer engineering is more specialized in this area.
dougouk
Hi, I am a grade 12 student, applying for uni for the coming September.
And yet, I'm still having trouble with deciding my course.

Electrical and Computer Engineering, I am confused with the two.

From wiki and other places I see that Electrical is more concerned with telecommunications and computer is concerned about just computer. But then there are ppl around me that say electrical eng is more concerned with the hardware of electrical devices where computer eng is more concerned with software. Is that true?

I'm looking to work with electrical devices like Ipad, tablets, mp3, laptops... and I want to focus on mainly the HARDWARE. If my interest lies in the hardware of modern-day electrical devices, is it right to choose computer eng?

Physics news on Phys.org
dougouk said:
From wiki and other places I see that Electrical is more concerned with telecommunications and computer is concerned about just computer. But then there are ppl around me that say electrical eng is more concerned with the hardware of electrical devices where computer eng is more concerned with software. Is that true?

Both are true, depending on what you want to get into.

I'm looking to work with electrical devices like Ipad, tablets, mp3, laptops... and I want to focus on mainly the HARDWARE. If my interest lies in the hardware of modern-day electrical devices, is it right to choose computer eng?

What do you mean by "hardware" ? If you want to design the exterior case, you'd be better served with mechanical engineering. If you want to design the circuit board or electronics, either electrical or computer engineering would probably serve you well.

fss said:
Both are true, depending on what you want to get into.