Electrical signals -- How do they actually propagate in real wires?

In summary, electric signals in a wire are transferred through the movement of free electrons in the conductor. These electrons can be made to vibrate or move based on the electrical signals sent into the wire, and this movement propagates along the wire to carry the signal to the other end. In a digital computer, varying the voltage will carry information, and there are many other complex strategies used. The conductivity of the wire can affect the efficiency of the power transfer, but is not a concern in other power or signal transfer systems. Additionally, in certain cases, local charge densities can be induced in the wire, which can amplify the signal being transmitted.
David Elbert
I am an electrical engineer, and I know that my question is not directly relevant to the pure Physics but anyway, my question is that how electric signals move inside wires? how to initiate the electrical signals knowing that in order for the electron to move in a circuit, we need a continuous voltage which is not the case in the signals.

Physics news on Phys.org
David Elbert said:
I am an electrical engineer, and I know that my question is not directly relevant to the pure Physics but anyway, my question is that how electric signals move inside wires? how to initiate the electrical signals knowing that in order for the electron to move in a circuit, we need a continuous voltage which is not the case in the signals.

Why is this not relevant to "pure physics"? The largest number of practicing physicists are in the field of condensed matter/solid state physics, which deals exactly with topics that include charge transport in solids.