Electric field generated by voltage on a sheet

In summary, this person is trying to calculate the effects of an electric field generated by a charged sheet attached to the body. They are trying to estimate some values and figure out the physics behind the problem.
Archer Borz
Hi All,

I'm trying to calculate the electric field at a point above a sheet with the voltage V. The space above is filled with a dielectric with known bulk conductivity and relative permittivity. And the sheet is electrically isolated from the space. My major is not physics so thanks for your help and education! :smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
This is an incomplete question. Electrical fields depend on differences in voltage and without knowing more, the question cannot be answered.

Orodruin said:
This is an incomplete question. Electrical fields depend on differences in voltage and without knowing more, the question cannot be answered.
Thanks Orodrin.
I tried to simplify my problem. Sorry to make it unsolvable in the process! Here is more detail in an example.
There is a conductive sheet covered with nonconductive material. (Let's simplify the nonconductive material effects on this problem to the fact that there is no current between the sheet and its surrounding) This sheet is over some body part (i.e. a muscle) with the initial voltage of 0 volts at t0. There is square voltage pulse over the sheet for w seconds (for example w=100ms). So, the voltage over the sheet is V1 initially and then is V2 for w seconds and then goes back to V1.
In reality, switching between V1 volts and V2 volts takes some time. This witching speed helped me to find the right values for the bulk conductivity and relative permittivity which I found them here: (http://niremf.ifac.cnr.it/docs/DIELECTRIC/Report.html#Results).