Electric Current in an open circuit

In summary, when a wire is connected to a positive terminal only, electrons will not flow to the positive terminal of the cell. This is because the electrolyte in the battery prevents the chemical reaction from occurring in an open circuit. This creates a potential for electrons to flow, but a completed circuit is needed for current to actually flow. Therefore, there will be no instantaneous DC current in this scenario.
Entanglement
I'm still a beginner at Electricity and electromagnetism, I'm wondering If we connect a wire to a positive terminal ONLY , why won't the electrons flow to the positive terminal of the cell as electrons are negatively charged, I have been days thinking about it and I need a clear convincing answer I don't matter if it is in detail but I need an understandable answer for a beginner

Physics news on Phys.org
ElmorshedyDr said:
If we connect a wire to a positive terminal ONLY , why won't the electrons flow to the positive terminal of the cell

Why wouldn't they? (as long as there's nothing wrong with the wire)

So there would be an instantaneous current in the wire?

In chemical batteries the electrolyte prevents electrons from going up from the anode to the cathode. It would be kind of pointless to have a battery that constantly was reacting without a circuit.

Well hopefully they wouldn't, seeing as how he hasn't completed the circuit.

But the electrons would move towards the anode the they would stop? I mean some kind of an instantaneous current

Then they would stop *********

Current flows from the anode to the cathode, a wire connected on the cathode only wouldn't permit the chemical reaction to occur. As I said before, the electrolyte prevents stray elections from going anode -> cathode.

This is an over simplistic view on batteries in general, but I’m not sure how much you actually understand.