Effect of Temperature on Chemical Equilibrium

In summary, the conversation was about Le Chatelier's principle and the effect of temperature on equilibrium constants. The participants discussed the difference between temperature, pressure, and concentration in terms of their impact on rate constants. It was mentioned that while temperature affects the rate constant, pressure and concentration do not. The reason for this was not fully explained, but it was suggested that a course in chemical thermodynamics would provide a more in-depth understanding.
Karan Punjabi
Guys, I'm studying about Le-chatelier's principle and the topic is effect of temperature. I just went through it and found a difficulty that why K values changes i.e why the equilibrium constant changes as in other effects like changes in concentration, pressure,etc the K values remains constant.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Karan:

I looked at the Wikipedia article
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Le_Chatelier's_principle
and I found no equations involving a variable "K". So, I assume that by "K value" you mean temperature.

I can make some wild guesses about the problem you are asking about, but in order to help you I need to see the context of the question, with quoted material for the source if possible.

Regards,
Buzz

In the simplest model the rate constant is given by the Arrhenius equation, see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reaction_rate_constant

The higher the temperature, the easier it is for the reactants to overcome the reaction barrier. No such dependence of the rate constant exists for pressure and concentration. That said, they still have to be considered in Le Châtelier's principle (although pressure only for gases).

You are asking why the equilibrium constant is a function of temperature, but not pressure or concentration, correct?

Chestermiller said:
You are asking why the equilibrium constant is a function of temperature, but not pressure or concentration, correct?