Dynamics Question: Finding Fa using mass and acceleration

In summary, the force available to accelerate the object is equal to the sum of all the forces acting on the object. This equation can be rearranged to find the applied force, which is equal to the mass of the object multiplied by the sum of the acceleration and the gravitational force. The correct solution for finding the applied force in this scenario is 15 (8.8 + 9.81) = 279 N.
Apollinaria
Hello again forum :smile: I am still studying for that unit test and am still having problems with dynamics... I've attached the problem with the calculations/solutions. Basically, I don't understand why I'm getting the wrong answer. Probably b/c idk what the heck I'm doing :eek:

Homework Statement

15kg object thrown into the air. Initial acceleration is 8.8m/s^2. Find applied force.

Homework Equations

Please see attachment.

The Attempt at a Solution

Please see attachment. Btw, I realize Fa needs to be positive.

Please advise regarding correct way of solving?.. Thank you for your time once again:smile:

EDIT: I found my mistake. However, I still don't understand why "that" is the correct solution.
My Fg value had to be negative;
Fa= (15kg x 8.8m/s^2) - (-147.15)
Fa= 279.15

Attachments

• Dynamics.jpg
    Dynamics.jpg
    24.4 KB · Views: 439
Physics news on Phys.org
The force available to accelerate the object (Fnet) is equal to the sum of all the forces acting on the object.

Fnet = FA + (-Fg)
or
Fnet = FA - Fg

Fg is negative because it's in the oposite direction to FA.

Rearrange..

FA = Fnet + Fg

= ma + mg
= m (a+g)
= 15 (8.8 + 9.81)
= 279 N

You have done everything right, you simply made a mistake while solving the equations.
You wrote:
FA-Fg=ma
FA=ma-Fg. <--- This is wrong. It should be FA=ma+Fg. :wink:

Well spotted. I looked at his working and didn't see that error.

CWatters said:
The force available to accelerate the object (Fnet) is equal to the sum of all the forces acting on the object.