Dynamic light scattering and coherence of light

In summary, the book "Dynamic Light Scattering" by Carole and Pecora suggests that phase information is not really needed for dynamic light scattering (DLS) measurements. The amplitude of the scattered light is of more importance, as it varies with the position of the particles undergoing Brownian motion. However, phase information may still be relevant in cases where the amplitude does not vary with particle position, as the phase difference between scattered light from multiple particles can affect the intensity measured at a detector.
gujax
Hi,
1. I am studying dynamic light scattering in which one experimentally measures intensity correlation i.e., <I(t)I(t+tau)>. Therefore, if the detector looks at a scattering signal from a solution of particles undergoing Brownian motion, under right experimental conditions one can detect the above correlation signal which looks like a reversed S shaped curve when plotted as correlation on Y axis and tau on X axis. Therefore one can obtain a sizable correlation all the way up to microseconds to milliseconds and then it decays.

2. I am told that more fundamental than intensity correlation is field correlation <E(t)E(t+tau)> and intensity correlation can be derived from field correlation. Great books such as "dynamic light scattering" by Carole and Pecora do begin with field correlation and then discuss intensity correlation.