Dot product = Product of norms

In summary: Yes, you are correct. This is what you would do to re-formulate the problem in a more simplified form. Once you have done that, you can then use the Cauchy-Schwarz inequality to show that the vectors are indeed parallel.
Bipolarity
Hey guys I am a beginner in linear algebra. I am doing vectors now and I just noticed that when two vectors are parallel (or antiparallel), the product of their norms is equal to the absolute value of their dot product, or

[tex] |u \cdot v | = ||u|| \ ||v|| [/tex]

I know that this is a special case of the Cauchy-Schwarz inequality. My question is, is the converse necessarily true? In other words, if you know the above equation to be true for a pair of vectors u and v, must they necessarily be parallel? How might one go about proving this? Could we assume the contrary and show an inconsistency?

By the way, by parallel, I mean to say that two vectors are parallel if there exists a scalar (real number, not necessarily positive) that scales one vector onto the other.

BiP

Physics news on Phys.org
Hey Bipolarity.

You can prove this is you want by letting one vector be a scalar multiple of the other (like v = c*u where c is a non-zero real number) and then use the properties of norms and inner products to show that the above is the case.

For inner products we know that <u,cu> = c<u,u> and for norms we know that ||cu|| = |c|*||u|| and the rest follows from there on.

chiro said:
Hey Bipolarity.

You can prove this is you want by letting one vector be a scalar multiple of the other (like v = c*u where c is a non-zero real number) and then use the properties of norms and inner products to show that the above is the case.

For inner products we know that <u,cu> = c<u,u> and for norms we know that ||cu|| = |c|*||u|| and the rest follows from there on.