Does (111) Plane in BCC Cut Center Atom?

• Thread starter u_know_who
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Plane
In summary, the conversation revolves around a question about the (111) plane in BCC crystal structure and whether or not it cuts through the center atom. The speaker has found that the perpendicular distance from the center of the atom to the plane is 2/3 of the radius of the atom, leading them to believe that the plane should in fact cut the atom. They are seeking clarification on this concept from others.
u_know_who
Hello, as i mentioned i am studying about crystal structure recently, i am facing another problem. In the book it says that :

(111) plane in BCC does not cut the center atom.

But i do some geometry and i come about that the perpendicular distance from the center of that atom to the (111) plane is 2/3 of the radius of atom. So from my point of view it should cut the atom (since the distance is less than the radius of the atom).

Can anyone help me to find out my mistakes?

Physics news on Phys.org
u_know_who said:
Hello, as i mentioned i am studying about crystal structure recently, i am facing another problem. In the book it says that :

(111) plane in BCC does not cut the center atom.

But i do some geometry and i come about that the perpendicular distance from the center of that atom to the (111) plane is 2/3 of the radius of atom. So from my point of view it should cut the atom (since the distance is less than the radius of the atom).

Can anyone help me to find out my mistakes?
I guess they meant that it doesn't pass through the center of the central atom.

So will i take if a plane doesn't pass through the center of the atom we will not count that atom? This thing is not clear in books.

Related to Does (111) Plane in BCC Cut Center Atom?

1. What is a BCC cut center atom?