Differential equations particle motion

In summary, the conversation is about a physics undergraduate student seeking help with finding x(t) from given information of F(v) = -bV2. The student presents their attempt at a solution, which involves integrating and finding the initial velocity to be zero. However, after receiving advice to add a constant and taking into account the initial velocity, the student's final equation becomes x(t) = m/b*ln(bt/m + 1/vo) - m/b*ln(1/vo). The conversation continues with the student questioning if this solution is correct and receiving further guidance.
philnow

Homework Statement

Hey all. I have F(v) and I'm looking for x(t).

F(v) = -bV2

I'm a physics undergrad student who hasn't done diff. equations in a while, so I'm very unsure of my work so far... but here it is.

The Attempt at a Solution

I write F=ma as F(v)=mdv/dt:

-bV2=mdv/dt

-m∫ dv/v2 = -b ∫dt

-m/v = -bt
m/v = bt

v = m/bt = dx/dt

∫ dx = m/b ∫ dt/t

Finally x(t) = m/b*ln(t)

Does this look good?

Physics news on Phys.org
philnow said:

Homework Statement

Hey all. I have F(v) and I'm looking for x(t).

F(v) = -bV2

I'm a physics undergrad student who hasn't done diff. equations in a while, so I'm very unsure of my work so far... but here it is.

The Attempt at a Solution

I write F=ma as F(v)=mdv/dt:

-bV2=mdv/dt

-m∫ dv/v2 = -b ∫dt

-m/v = -bt
m/v = bt +constant

don't forget the constant.

Otherwise it looks alright. Also remember that ma can be written as mv dv/dx as well

I forgot to add that the initial position and initial velocity are both zero so I don't need to worry about constants. Thanks!

Are you sure the initial velocity is zero?

philnow said:
Finally x(t) = m/b*ln(t)

Differentiate that expression. Do you get dx/dt=0 at t=0?

I misinformed you all, the particle has an initial velocity Vo. My bad. Even still I see that if I put 0 for t in my equation, it is undefined, when it should be zero.