Difference Between a Chemist & Chem Engineer: Preparing for Grad School

In summary, a Chem E undergraduate degree is not always required to apply to a Chem E graduate program. A background in Chemistry and/or Mathematics will help you in most cases. You will need to take some undergraduate courses to catch up on the material and may need to spend two years or more in college.
gravenewworld
Can someone please explain in detail what the difference is between a chemist and a chemical engineer? I have no idea what I want to do with my future so I am considering all options. I was thinking about applying to grad schools for Chem E, just to see what kind of offers I might get. I was reading a lot of schools' websites and most of them said that a Chem E undergraduate degree was not required to apply for the grad program in Chem E. My background is
BS- Chemsitry
BS- Mathematics
Minor- Economics

Would this be an adequate preparation for a grad program in Chem E? I know I would have to probably take an extra semester or so in grad school to get caught up on undergraduate Chem E concepts, but this does not bother me at all. I did very well in courses like Physical chemistry I and II which is more like engineering I am assuming. Please tell me if I have a shot at all at getting into any grad schools for Chem E. Thanks.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Your undergraduate record is perfect for Chem E!

Chem E is all about making profit and your Economics minor will help you. Chem E is also mostly Chemistry + Math so that's another plus for you.

You'll probably have to take Materials Balances first, then Chem Thermo (Physical Chemistry will help you with this), then Separations, and Reactor engineering, and finally the process dynamics & control with some lab work. Might take at least 2 years worth of undergrad courses. Knowledge is diff eq + linear/nonlinear algebra is important so if you good at that you'll love chem e.

Here's some pointers :