Determine the angular speed theta_dot

In summary: Vr^2... or even V (r^2)?In summary, the student is trying to solve for the velocity of a particle moving in a circular coordinate system, but is having trouble understanding the concepts. He is asking for help from someone who is more experienced in the subject.
CGI

Homework Statement

upload_2016-1-24_13-13-6.png

Homework Equations

Vθ = r x θdot
Vr = rdot

Accelθ = r ⋅ θdot^2 + 2(r dot)(theta dot)
Accelr = r double dot - (r ⋅(θdot)^2)

The Attempt at a Solution

I know that the answer is supposed to be
upload_2016-1-24_13-19-2.png

But I'm not quite sure on how I'm supposed to get to an answer like that.
I'm still relatively new to polar coordinates, but I was hoping someone
could get me to start thinking in the right direction?

I thought that my position would be R = bθ and if I took the derivative with
respect to θ, I would get R_dot = b, which I think would be equal to π/2.

I'm not quite sure that's right though. I'd really appreciate it if someone could
help me out!

Physics news on Phys.org
I thought that my position would be R = bθ and if I took the derivative with
respect to θ, I would get R_dot = b, which I think would be equal to π/2.
The position is not ##R=b\theta## ... ##\dot R \neq dR/d\theta## ... and there is no reason b should be any particular value.
You need to start again - what is the definition of "position"? What is the definition of "velocity" and how does that relate to "speed"? What does the dot notation tell you?

Okay, I'm sorry it took so long to respond. I actually waited to talk to my professor to understand polar coordinates a little better.
I can't come up with a good definition of position except that they are coordinates to a particular point on a graph. When I think of velocity I often think
of something with a magnitude and direction. The magnitude of the velocity would also give you the speed. The dot notation was tripping me up for