Decimal number from whatever base the user inputs c++

• C/C++
  • Thread starter Jkohn
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Base C++
In summary, the conversation discusses a programming assignment that involves converting a number from a string to an integer, and then converting that integer to a decimal number in a user-specified base. The participants in the conversation share different approaches, including using a place value system and the DIV/MOD algorithm. The conversation ends with one participant expressing confusion and seeking help with implementing their chosen approach.
Jkohn
Hey all, I am majoring in math and taking this c++ which I am having some trouble with. [Im into paper and pencils ]

So my assignment is to have a number saved in a string then convert it from a string to an integer (have that done) and finally convert that number to a decimal number from whatever base the user inputs.

I am lost with the int-base to decimal.

I was thinking using BASE 2 and convert it which ever base.
Integer--> convert it to base 2-->user inputs base-->converst BASE 2-->BASE N

Ex.
read 6
convert that to base 2-->110 [4+2+0=6]
user wants base 2-->print 110

Im assuming there is an algorithm for converting between bases that I don't know about.

Any ideas on how to do this and additional help would be really appreciated!

ty all!

Technology news on Phys.org
If you are somewhat clever you may be able to discover a base converting algorithm on your own.

With the place value system with base b, we would treat a positive number as a sum some terms. Each term is an integer in the range 0 to b-1, multiplied by bi, where i is an integer designating place. For example:

d2*b2 + d1*b1 + d0*b0

Hint: The largest bi with a non-zero digit di will be less than the number. If bi is greater than than the number you want to represent, then the digit that multiplies bi must be zero, because if we added 1*b^i, the sum would already be too large.