Dc to ac inverter circuit debug please

In summary: If not, then you might have a problem with the transformer itself. Have you tried changing the coil type or winding?
tomos976
Hello I am a EE student and was wondering if anyone had some suggestions on how to fix my inverter it's for a capstone project we are using a twelve volt battery and trying to get 120vac 60Hzs we can get 59Hzs from the curcuit intill it goes into the transformer then it changes to 177Hzs and ideas. and yes i am well aware of the dangers we need just enough amps and watts to run a light bulb. thank you

Engineering news on Phys.org
tomos976 said:
Hello I am a EE student and was wondering if anyone had some suggestions on how to fix my inverter it's for a capstone project we are using a twelve volt battery and trying to get 120vac 60Hzs we can get 59Hzs from the curcuit intill it goes into the transformer then it changes to 177Hzs and ideas. and yes i am well aware of the dangers we need just enough amps and watts to run a light bulb. thank you

Welcome to the PF.

Well, the power to run a 120Vrms lightbulb can be plenty dangerous. Do you have a faculty advisor who is overseeing this project?

Can you post a schematic of your circuit and system? We will probably need to see that to be of any help.

dc to ac inverter debug

I'm building a 12v inverter. I can get 60Hzs on the circuit in-till it goes through the transformer it changes to 177Hzs does anybody have any ideas here is the circuit I'm using

C1, C2 2 68 uf, 25 V Tantalum Capacitor
R1, R2 2 10 Ohm, 5 Watt Resistor
R3, R4 2 180 Ohm, 1 Watt Resistor
D1, D2 2 HEP 154 Silicon Diode
Q1, Q2 2 2N3055 NPN Transistor (see "Notes")
T1 1 24V, Center Tapped Transformer

Attachments

• pf inverter.gif
    pf inverter.gif
    2.5 KB · Views: 615

tomos976 said:
I'm building a 12v inverter. I can get 60Hzs on the circuit in-till it goes through the transformer it changes to 177Hzs does anybody have any ideas here is the circuit I'm using