Creation and annihilation as measuring processes?

In summary: The excited atoms through the Young slits scatter sunlight, and the fringes on the screen are modified by the fact that the atoms can decay not by the measuring of the photons.
itssilva
From a purely theoretical standpoint, I'm quite comfortable with the concept of particle creation/annihilation, but, as a chemist, I cannot but feel that there's something missing in the way of interpretation, so I came up with the following 'explanation' of the phenomenon based on the measured property=eigenvalue postulate of QM:
Consider the reaction e-e+→μ-μ+; suppose that the 'in' states are prepared at past infinity such that they are indeed one-particle Fock states of the electron field, but then they evolve, through the exponential of the free Hamiltonian plus the interaction Hamiltonian, into a superposition of Fock states of all kinds of particles (muons inclusive); when e- and e+ interact (in a local sense), this situation then becomes akin to a measurement process in QM: as a result of this "measurement", the Fock superpositions collapse into well-defined one-particle muon eigenstates, which then proceed to future infinity. Is this the correct viewpoint, from a field-theoretical perspective? Is there an alternative, simpler way to visualize this process?

Physics news on Phys.org
What do you think is being measured?

Simon Bridge said:
What do you think is being measured?