Creating a Fictional Recipe for Hydrogen Sulphide in a Video Game

• Thread starter Harvester_82
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Hydrogen
In summary, Remi is a game developer who is asking for input on a puzzle in her new game, The Cat Lady. She is wondering if it is ethical to give players a recipe for death like that. She wants to know what ingredient would work best to make it look like a believable lie. She asks for suggestions from the community.
Harvester_82
Hi, my name is Remi, I'm a game developer from Harvester Games. I have an important question regarding hydrogen sulphide. Do not worry- I am not planning to commit suicide with it, but I need it for a puzzle in my new game, The Cat Lady.

At some point in the game the game's protagonist is required to combine two household chemicals to kill a man who kidnapped her. There is a whole theme in the game regarding famous japanese suicide method and that's why she knows how to make it. From my research I've found that it can be made by combining bleach and pesticide... but I'm not sure it's ethical to give players a recipe for death like that... Is it?... Anyway, I thought I'd swap pesticide for a different ingredient, something that in real life wouldn't kill anyone. But which ingredient could it be, to make it look like a "believable lie"? What I'm after is what Stephen King did with his fictional painkillers that Paul SHeldon was being fed by Ann in Misery. A made up recipe which is harmless, yet not completely out of this world and laughable ( like bleach + strawberry jam for instance... that's just stupid..;))

I'd appreciate suggestions from you guys, since my chemical knowledge is minimal.

Thanks!

Chemistry news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF!

Hi Remi! Welcome to PF! :smile:
Harvester_82 said:
… I thought I'd swap pesticide for a different ingredient, something that in real life wouldn't kill anyone. But which ingredient could it be, to make it look like a "believable lie"?

How about using an allergy?