Complex Variable Basic Proof by Induction (I'm lost.)

In summary: Now, use the induction hypothesis on the first part. That will give you \overline{z_1}+ \overline{z_2}+ \cdot\cdot\cdot+ \overline{z_n}+ \overline{z_{n+1}} which is exactly what you need to be equal to \overline{z_1}+ \overline{z_2}+ \cdot\cdot\cdot+ \overline{z_n}+ \overline{z_{n+1}}.In summary, the problem asks to use mathematical induction to prove that when n = 2,3,..., the complex conjugate of the sum of n complex numbers is equal
DEMJ

Homework Statement

Use mathematical induction to show that when n = 2,3,...,

[tex]\overline{z_1+z_2+\cdots +z_n} = \bar{z_1} + \bar{z_2} + \cdots + \bar{z_n}[/tex]

Homework Equations

[tex]\overline{z_1 + z_2} = \bar{z_1} + \bar{z_2}[/tex]

The Attempt at a Solution

So help me get started on the first step because I am new to induction. The only proofs I've done/seen (not many) were proved for each [tex]n \in N[/tex]. With that said how do I even start by showing that P(1) holds because the n = 2, 3, ... is throwing me off because 1 is not in there. Does it mean show for all numbers starting from 2? So should I be proving P(2) holds in the first step? Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes, Prove that it is true for n=2 as a first step, then assume for n and then using that prove that it is also true for n+1

So to show P(2) holds:

[tex]P(2) = \bar{2} = \bar{2}[/tex]

this seems goofy. So should it be this way instead?

LHS = [tex]\overline{2+3} = \bar{5}[/tex]

RHS = [tex]\bar{2}+\bar{3} = \bar{5}[/tex]

Then [tex]\bar{5} = \bar{5}[/tex]. So P(2) is true.

In this case the inductive variable n is referring to the indeces of the terms, not the values of the terms. So P(2) is the statement

[tex]\overline{(z_1+z_2)} = \overline{z_1} + \overline{z_2}[/tex]

while P(3) is

[tex]\overline{(z_1+z_2+z_3)}=\overline{z_1} + \overline{z_2} + \overline{z_3}.[/tex]

(Side comment P(1) is trivially true since z-bar = z-bar is an identity and not useful here.)