Common Time: Explaining Einstein's Definition

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of "common time" in relation to Einstein's theory of relativity and the synchronization of clocks. The participants suggest different definitions and interpretations of this term, and discuss the importance of understanding the ideas behind it rather than just memorizing equations. They also caution against learning relativity solely from the original papers and suggest studying it from modern sources as well.
WilliamMGiraldo
Hi.

Thanks for letting me ask this question. It is a stupid one.
I'm a newbie at relativity theory, and I'm reading On the electrodynamics of moving bodies, By Einstein, A. He associates time with space, and tells us that you can measure the "time" of an event if you are in the coordinates of the event with a wristwatch.

However, he says that:
upload_2018-1-9_8-20-50.png

¿Why does this defines a common time? ¿What is common time? ¿Is it that the two clocks display the same value?

This is the document in question: http://hermes.ffn.ub.es/luisnavarro/nuevo_maletin/Einstein_1905_relativity.pdf

Attachments

• upload_2018-1-9_8-20-50.png
    upload_2018-1-9_8-20-50.png
    31.9 KB · Views: 660
Physics news on Phys.org
WilliamMGiraldo said:
¿Why does this defines a common time? ¿What is common time? ¿Is it that the two clocks display the same value?
In context, this "common time" would be a definition of time that is common to (that is a time standard that is shared between and can be used for) both events near A and events near B. He is leading toward what we would describe as "coordinate time" and is suggesting a synchronization convention that can be used to allow times measured by clock A over here to be validly compared with times measured by clock B over there.

Likes WilliamMGiraldo