Co-efficient of friction of a uniform ladder leaned on rough wall

In summary: You're right, the friction is in the opposite direction, F(towards the wall direction). Can you please help me to evaluate μ?? I'm pretty overwhelmed with the no. of equations. I need to get μ=√5-2.P.S. I'm not quite sure how to transfer this post to the Introductory Physics area...I'm a rookie in forums, sorry.
nvjnj

Homework Statement

A uniform ladder of weight (W) is leaned across a rough wall and on a rough floor. The reaction at the wall is (S) with frictional force (G)(upward direction) while the reaction at the floor is (R) with frictional force (F)(away from the wall direction). Frictional forces are taken to be limiting and the ladder is in equilibrium. The ladder's top is 4m above the ground while its foot is 2m away from the wall. Assuming that the coefficient of friction is same at the wall and the ground, calculate the coefficient of friction.

Homework Equations

No equations specified, guessing F=ma, Moments equilibria and F=μR

The Attempt at a Solution

R(upwards) : R+G=W.........(1)
R(away from wall) : S=F........(2)
Moments(about foot) : 4S+2G=W......(3)
Moments(about top of ladder) : W+4F=2R...(4)
F=μR............(5)
G=μS............(6)

I may/may not have 6 independent equations to arrive at the solution so best not to consider them, but please do point out the errors, i can't seem to calculate μ with all these equations
(Answer μ=(√5)-1 )

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Divide all forces into components through the center of mass of the ladder and perpendicular?
You are making people guess what all those letters stand for.

nvjnj said:

Homework Statement