Classical Mechanic books for a Secondary Student

In summary, the conversation was about a high school student's passion for physics and their struggle with understanding Newton's Laws. They were seeking recommendations for books and resources to further their knowledge in classical physics and eventually Lagrangian Mechanics. The conversation also touched on the math skills needed for college level physics and the difference between learning formulas and applying first principles in problem solving. Recommendations were given for websites, videos, and books that could help improve the student's understanding of physics and calculus.
OenoLovesPie
I am a secondary student who is in grade 10, which means that I am only beginning to learn physics and calculus (e.g. Newton's Laws and Binomial Theorem). I have a passion for physics and has been getting relatively good grades but recently I started to lay my hands on Newton's Laws and I am thoroughly frustrated. The book offers little to no explanation on how to solve different questions and the exercise books are too hard for me to understand them. Can someone give me a list of good books that are not too hard, but can further my knowledge on classical physics and eventually build up to Lagrangian Mechanics (I know it's a bit off a stretch but I really want to learn it.) Also, can you please list out what kind of maths would I need to be able to understand college level physics, thanks. (Update: I saw one of my classmates solving problems from a book called "Introductory Classical Mechanics, with problems and solution by David Morin, what kind of math would I need to be able to solve questions in this book?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF!

Mathwise you'll need to now Calculus 1, 2 and 3 to understand Classical Mechanics at the Lagrangian level. CM uses a lot of Vector Calculus, Linear Algebra and Differential Equations to formulate and solve problems