Choosing a Major: Finding the Right Fit for You

In summary, computer science seems to be a popular and in-demand field with various job opportunities available such as software development, IT, game development, and more. Other potential areas of study include electrical engineering, computer engineering, industrial engineering, or applied mathematics. It is recommended to consider a co-op program to gain experience and explore different job options. It is also important to carefully choose a major, especially if planning on going to graduate school. In NZ, it is relatively easy to switch programs in the first year but becomes more difficult in the second year.
Red Joker
I am in my last year of high school here in my country and I've been thinking of something related to mathematics and physics and computers. I've decided that computer science would probably be the best course to choose. Do you know what is the best job you can get with a computer science degree, ("best" may be subjective but any definition of "best" would suffice.). If you have any other ideas of other better courses to study that would be helpful as well.

Physics news on Phys.org
what country you are in?

What made you come to the conclusion that computer science is the best course of action for you?

What about Electrical (or computing) engineering?
I have degrees in both computer science and electrical engineering. I found EE to be a lot more technical, and I know people who graduated with EE who went into software development. EE might give you more variety to find a job you'll love.

funlord said:
what country you are in?
I am in NZ at the moment. Computer science seems to be in the demand market.

Dishsoap said:
What made you come to the conclusion that computer science is the best course of action for you?
Well it has both physics and computers both so I guess it could work? I'm not entirely sure but so far the course towards computers seems to be the most interesting of them all.