Career options with a MS in physics

In summary, the individual has a Master's degree in physics from the University of New Hampshire and has completed all necessary coursework for a PhD but chose to leave with a Master's and pursue a high school teaching job. However, after 3 years of unsuccessful job searching, they are now considering other options. They have a background in nuclear theory and mathematics, but are unsure of what they want to do. They have looked into job sites and considered applying for a job at a nuclear power plant, but are hesitant due to the emphasis on engineering. They have also tried to find a teaching job, but have had no luck due to limited openings and the need for a credential. They are now considering working in the defense industry, but do not want
quanta137
Hello,

I have been reading this thread hoping to find some advice to would apply to me. I have a Master's in physics from the University of New Hampshire. I had actually passed the PHD qualifying exam, and also completed all of the PHD course work before I decided to leave with a Master's degree and pursue a high school teaching job. I have been trying to find such a job for the last 3 years with no luck, and so I have decided to re-consider my options. My thesis was on Kaon Nucleon scattering in lattice QCD, and most of my research was on nuclear theory. I also have a pretty extensive mathematics background. My problem is that I am not sure what it is that I really want to do. I keep searching and checking job sites, like craigslist and monster.com, but nothing has jumped out at me yet. I have been mulling over applying at a nuclear power plant, but it seems they are more interested in engineers then in physicists. My only programming experience is with Mathematica, which I am very well versed in. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org