Career Experience VS Education

In summary, it is hard to make a decision about what is more important, work experience or education, because they are both important. Heya.
STEMucator
Homework Helper
Heya.

Recently, I was hired at a local software firm and have been working there for the past week and a half or so. My co-workers seem like really cool people to work with, and the work environment is actually great.

Right now I'm just an intern, but I want to actually keep this job. There's no way I would want to ever go back to working retail ( Or worse ) as to gain income. Selling an hour of my life for $11 at a time is simply out of the question. So I've been working really hard as to earn a good impression with everybody around me.

So now I arrive at a dilemma a couple of months from now... School is back in and suddenly the percentiles of my ##\pi## of life get skewed.

My question now; What is more important : Work experience or Education.

I'm having a tough time deciding what gets a bigger piece. I really want to keep this job, but I'm not sure I could manage full time studies and the job at the same time. I'd like to get some opinions from people before I decide what to do.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
They're both equally important however a degree can get you a job that would require 10 years of experience without the degree. The other thing is most people only get one shot at going to college. If you miss the train, you might very well regret it down the line. Assuming you're talking about comp. sci, if you can hack it financially, I'd finish school.

If you're talking about a web development cert or something similar, you should probably stay at your job.

The best person to ask would be your supervisor or manager at work. It might be a bit soon to do that after less than 2 weeks of your internship, but it would make sense to ask about a full-time job about half way through, rather than right at the end.