Can you please teach me the properties of absolute values

In summary, an absolute value is a mathematical concept that represents the distance between a number and zero on a number line. To find the absolute value of a number, you simply remove the negative sign (if there is one) and leave the number unchanged. The properties of absolute values include that the absolute value of a positive number is the same as the original number, the absolute value of a negative number is the opposite of the original number, the absolute value of zero is zero, the absolute value of a sum is equal to the sum of the absolute values, and the absolute value of a product is equal to the product of the absolute values. Absolute values are used in a variety of real life situations, such as calculating distances, determining the magnitude
eljota38
I am new in the field of science please can you help me. I would I appreciate it. I am not that knowledgeable.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
thanks , and sorry for the question I now it is very basic stuff. :P I do know it

Please read this: https://www.physicsforums.com/blog.php?b=3588

Last edited by a moderator:

Sure, I would be happy to help! Absolute value is a mathematical concept that represents the distance of a number from zero on a number line. It is always positive, regardless of whether the original number is positive or negative. For example, the absolute value of -5 is 5, and the absolute value of 5 is also 5.

In science, absolute value is often used to represent physical quantities such as distance, speed, and temperature. It can also be used to represent the magnitude of a vector, which is a quantity with both magnitude and direction.