Can Statics and Torque Principles Help Solve These Physics Problems?

• Thread starter chambo622
  • Start date
In summary, the defect in the teeter-totter causes the fulcrum to be placed off-center, which causes the weight to be distributed unevenly.
chambo622
It's my first time posting here; I'm usually able to get help from my teacher and friends at school, but I'm in a bind: I was absent for most of the torque/statics unit this week and I have a test tomorrow that can't be re-scheduled. Here's a few problems similar to the ones I'm to be tested on; if I could be guided through these I'd be eternally grateful.

1a. Homework Statement

A brick is placed on a bike pedal to provide torque and cause the bike to roll. If the brick weighs 8kg and the pedal is 16cm away from the crankshaft's axis of rotation, find the torque applied to the crankshaft when the pedal is in each of the following positions: straight forward, 45 degrees towards the front and down, and straight down.

1b. Relevant equations

t = m g x sin( theta) (is this right?)

1c. The attempt at a solution

Straight down-zero (no distance between the center of rotation and the point at which the weight acts)
at 45 degrees t = 8 * 9.8 * 0.16 * sin(45deg) = 8.87 Nm
and at 90 t = 8 * 9.8 * 0.16 * 1 = 12.5 Nm

Really not sure if these are right...but seems somewhat logical...

2a. Homework Statement

A basic draw bridge over a river is operated by two chains, one attached to each upper corner of the bridge. The bridge's mass is 300kg and is stationary at a 55 degree angle upwards from the horizontal. At this angle the chains are perfectly horizontal. Find the tension in each chain, the force exerted by each of the hinges on the bridge (assuming there are two identical hinges, one at each bottom corner), and the tension in each chain required to begin lifting the bridge from a far/open position.

2b. Relevant equations

See below...it's a start...

2c. The attempt at a solution