Can Photons Be Accelerated by Altering Their Path?

• I
  • Thread starter Mridul Tripathi
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Photon
In summary: This can be achieved by bouncing the photon off a mirror or by passing it through a medium with varying refractive index. However, the speed of a photon (c) cannot be changed, as it is already traveling at the maximum speed possible. This is due to the fact that photons have no mass and therefore cannot be accelerated in the traditional sense. So while we can change the direction of a photon, we cannot accelerate it.
Mridul Tripathi
I am a student . My question is that in what way we can accelerate a photon , is this possible ?
I am a student . My question is that in what way we can accelerate a photon , is this possible ?
what if i pass the light to a medium of varying refractive index,containing lots of biprism at random angles so the velocity vector and the velocity will both change. does this will accelerate the photon

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Photon travels with speed c.So I don't think we can accelerate it

Mridul Tripathi said:
I don't think this is possible. For example, photons are already traveling at the speed of light when they are created. There is no need to accelerate them.

Actually, velocity is a vector. So even though the speed of a light pulse never changes, the direction of the velocity can. For example, by the light bouncing off a mirror. Also, in General Relativity, the path of a light pulse can be bent by gravity. Whether you consider these to be "acceleration" is a matter of semantics.

Also, light travels slower through a medium (such as glass), so in that sense, light can accelerate when it passes from glass into air.