Can i still be an astrophysicist

• Physics
  • Thread starter abbeynewton
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Astrophysicist
In summary,If you want to become an astrophysicist, you will need to have completed some physics courses. However, you may be able to catch up in graduate school.
abbeynewton
Hello,
I am in my final year, studying geophysics, but i have always loved astronomy and physics. Because of some circumstances(which is a very long story), i could not study astrophysics. Can i do masters in astrophysics even with my B.Sc in Geophysics, and if not what can i do to study it. My school does not offer any program on any space related subject, as a matter of fact no school in my country offers it(I am from Nigeria). So i don't have any basic or formal education on astronomy. So what can i do?

Physics news on Phys.org
While you may have to play catchup with a few courses, I don't think that switch would be impossible. What physics courses have you taken? You should have covered the basics, anyway.

The best way to figure out how doable it is is to contact a potential graduate program and ask. It can't hurt.

hello G01,
just to be on the safe side can you please list the physics courses that i should study to be an astrophysicist excluding maths methods and areas i should pay more attention, and a good university in US(and or UK) that is acknowledged with this field

Hi abbey,

I'm not an astrophysicist or a geophysicist, just a plain old boring physicist! So, I haven't been through an astrophysicist curriculum so I can only tell you what the important physics courses are. I have no insight into astronomy specific courses. The best bet is to check an astronomy departments web page as see what the undergrads need to take.

For instance:

http://www.villanova.edu/artsci/astronomy/undergrad/major.htm