Can Degassing Water Flow Be Achieved with Air?

• Thread starter kart1987
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Air Water
In summary, a vacuum pump or ultrasound can be used to degass water, but it is not possible to do so on flow water. A separate pump would be needed to remove the gas from the chamber.
kart1987
hi, I'm a student and I'm new comer of this forum. my question is about a my project for the university based on degassing a water flow. i know that i can use a vacuum pump or ultrasound to make this on calm water, but is it possible on flow water?

Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.

Any process carried out at a low pressure, can probably also be done in a continuous flow, after an orifice that reduces the pressure in a chamber, before the inlet to a pump that restores the outlet pressure. A separate pump would be needed to remove the gas from the chamber.

By coupling a hydraulic motor with a pump having a slightly greater capacity, better efficiency would be achieved. Driving the combination would take less power than an orifice and a pump.

Baluncore said:
Welcome to PF.

Any process carried out at a low pressure, can probably also be done in a continuous flow, after an orifice that reduces the pressure in a chamber, before the inlet to a pump that restores the outlet pressure. A separate pump would be needed to remove the gas from the chamber.

By coupling a hydraulic motor with a pump having a slightly greater capacity, better efficiency would be achieved. Driving the combination would take less power than an orifice and a pump.
thanks! what pressure the pump of vacuum should be make for a good separation of air? i need that only air separate, not steam.

When the water is at the boiling point there will be almost no dissolved gasses to remove.
The vapour pressure of water varies with temperature, you will always get some water vapour with the air.
You need some “steam” to be sure there is no air left in solution.