Can ANSYS Analyze the Difference in Gap Values for Contact Surfaces?

In summary, the conversation is about an intern working on an analytic project in a company. The project involves determining the gap between two contact surfaces, specifically two O-rings. The intern has obtained some results using "node to node" contact and probe "gap" commands, but there is a difference in the results. The supervisor wants the intern to investigate the reason for this difference. The intern asks if anyone knows the calculations and analysis behind Ansys, and if it is possible to determine the gap by looking at the deformations of the O-rings. The O-rings are frictionless and under pressure, and the end goal is to determine the leakage through them and find the better analysis.
WIN
I'm an intern currently and doing some analytic project in a company. So i am required to determine the gap between 2 contact surface (2 O-rings). I've obtain some result by using "node to node" contact with some commands and also probe "gap". There's some difference between the results and the supervisor want me to find out why is there difference between the gap value. Is there anyway i can find it out? Anyone here know the reason behind the calculations/analysis behind ansys. And is it possible to determine the gap by the deformations of the 2 O-rings. Thanks.

Engineering news on Phys.org
What is the configuration of the O rings and other components ?

the O rings were frictionless to each other and there are pressure acting on them so that both O-rings will press against each other... the end effect is to determine that the leakage through them with Gap and find out which is the better analysis

it look this way...

Attachments

• Unbenannt.PNG
    Unbenannt.PNG
    19.3 KB · Views: 535

Related to Can ANSYS Analyze the Difference in Gap Values for Contact Surfaces?

What is ANSYS Contact Problem - Gap?