Calculate Surface Charge Decay - Chemical Engineer

In summary: I'm not sure what you're trying to do.This is something that I am still trying to figure out. I was thinking that it could be something small like a metal or plastic bead.
Disserate
I am a chemical engineer and have little experience with complicated electrical properties. I was wondering if there was a way to calculate the rate at which the surface charge of a particle will dissipate when it comes in contact with an electrode of the opposite charge. For example a small particle of polypropylene that has a negative charge on the surface contacting an aluminum plate that has a high positive voltage on it with respect to ground. Thanks.

Engineering news on Phys.org
There are so many variables in this example, that it may be easiest to just perform tests.

Likes 1 person
Well I wouldn't even know where to begin to perform tests, but I do know most of these variables. I know the voltage on the plate, the charge density of the particle along with the size, and the shape can be approximated as spherical. I can find most material properties online, but what I really need is to have a relationship that can give me the approximate amount of charge that is lost during an impact of the particle on the plate.

Disserate said:
I am a chemical engineer and have little experience with complicated electrical properties. I was wondering if there was a way to calculate the rate at which the surface charge of a particle will dissipate when it comes in contact with an electrode of the opposite charge. For example a small particle of polypropylene that has a negative charge on the surface contacting an aluminum plate that has a high positive voltage on it with respect to ground. Thanks.

This sounds like something to be researched. e.g. http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/login.jsp?tp=&arnumber=1387828&url=http%3A%2F%2Fieeexplore.ieee.org%2Fxpls%2Fabs_all.jsp%3Farnumber%3D1387828