C++ Compiler for Mac Leopard that is NOT Xcode?

In summary: If you want to use a different compiler on your Windows machine, you can download and install the gcc compiler from the link given at the start of the summary. There is also a link to an XCode project file for a Hello World program. You can simply modify the source files and press the "compile and run" button to generate and run the program.
Saladsamurai
I am a novice (very novice) C++ user. I use Dev C++ on my PC. I really love it because it is very clean and simple. I just click File->new->new source code and I am there. There is an editing window and a building workspace is opened automatically.

Is there something comparable to Dev C++ for Macs? I tried Xcode and so far I hate it.

Just looking for some (free) alternatives.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Casey

Technology news on Phys.org
Rootx, I don't think that would be very helpful to salad's situation.

Saladsamurai: If you have xcode installed then you also have gcc installed. (This is basically the only compiler out there for os x, so anything else you download will just be a shell for gcc. There probably do exist such shells-- macvim?-- but I wouldn't know what they are.) If you want to compile something with gcc, just open a terminal window and say:

g++ yourfilename.cpp -o yourprogramname

However if you are doing any kind of "real" (i.e. GUI) application development you want to use XCode because it does stuff like framework linking for you.

If you don't like XCode you don't have to interact with it very much. Just find an XCode project file suitable to your situation, modify the source files, and pretend XCode itself doesn't exist other than the 'compile and run' button.

Basically anything that runs on Linux should be available for OS-X, the other common IDE is Eclipse http://www.eclipse.org/
As coin says the actual compiler is generally the excellent gcc