Build Electrodynamic Trap:Camera,Voltage,Distance

In summary, the conversation discusses the building of an electrodynamic trap using 2 ring electrodes to trap aerosol particles. The speaker mentions applying a voltage of 5 KV and asks for advice on what camera to use to visualize the particles and what distance should be maintained between the rings. The response includes information on the breakdown of air at a field of 30 kV/cm and the importance of spacing between the electrodes to avoid sparks. The conversation also mentions examples of this technology, such as Honeywell's electrostatic air purifier and provides additional resources for more information.
a789irfan
I am new to physics. I am trying to build an electrodynamic trap using 2 ring electrodes to trap aerosol particles. I will be applying a voltage of 5 KV. What are the things that i need for example what camera do i use to visulaize the particles and what distance should i maintain between the rings

Physics news on Phys.org
Air breaks down at a field of about 30 kV/cm, modified a bit by humidity and significantly by the presence of larger particles. Since you don't want sparks, you want a spacing large compared to 5/30 cm or about 1.6 mm if you have smooth electrodes. The field increases dramatically at sharp edges, and more so at sharp points (the reason Franklin used sharpened rods to protect houses against lightning), so you might want to start with a cm or so.

This technology is common--take a look at Honeywell's electrostatic air purifier for home furnaces, or these links.

http://www.airpurifiers.com/technology/electronic.htm"
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electrostatic_air_cleaner"

Last edited by a moderator:
Hello there,