Book on Infinitesimal Calculus: Deriving DEs for EE Students

In summary, the conversation is about a recommendation for a book on infinitesimal calculus, specifically in regards to the derivation of differential equations. The person asking for the recommendation is an EE student with a background in calculus but is struggling to understand the derivation of the Black-Scholes PDE. The book recommended is "Differential Equations with applications and historical notes" by George F Simmons, which covers a wide range of areas in a compact and accessible manner.
foges
Hey guys, can anyone recommend me a book on infinitesimal calculus. What i mean by infinitesimal calculus is the derivation of differential equations by looking at infinitesimal changes ([tex]dx\,dt[/tex], etc...).

Examples of this would be the Black-Scholes PDE, Euler-Bernoulli DE, etc..

I'm an EE student and have a solid background in Math (Calculus I,II & III, etc..), but when my Prof. derived the black-scholes PDE in two slides I couldn't quite follow

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org

Or can someone just give me the name of the subject? because i can't seem to find anything under infinitesimal calculus..

I doubt that one book contains all you require but try

Differential Equations with applications and historical notes

by

George F Simmons

In a compact book the author manages a sweep through most areas from traditional right through to modern chaos theory in a very accessible manner.

thanks, will check it out :)

Related to Book on Infinitesimal Calculus: Deriving DEs for EE Students

1. What is "Infinitesimal Calculus"?

Infinitesimal Calculus, also known as Differential and Integral Calculus, is a branch of mathematics that deals with the study of continuous change. It involves methods and techniques for finding rates of change, slopes of curves, areas under curves, and many other applications.

2. How is "Infinitesimal Calculus" related to Electrical Engineering?