Best way to learn Java in 3 months?

• Java
  • Thread starter NextElement
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Java
In summary, the conversation discussed joining a robotics club and using Java for programming the robot. The person had self-taught themselves Python and asked for advice on learning Java. The recommendation was to download a Java Compiler and learn the syntax and fundamentals of Object Oriented Programming. Python was also discussed as a good starting language, but it may not perform well enough for robotics due to its focus on beginner-friendly programming. Labview was also mentioned as a tool for programming machines and interfaces with instruments.
NextElement
I'm joining my school's FIRST Robotics club, and our supervisor has said that we will be using Java to program our robot this year.

I have self taught myself Python and enjoyed it, but does any pone have any advice/tips/links for helping learn Java? I know it's a whole different animal compared to the basic Python I know, but I want to be a able to contribute to the team and I think it'll be a great learning experience.

Technology news on Phys.org
The best way to learn Java in 3 months is to give me $3,000!

I'm only kidding, although that is a viable option.

If you know Python, it really shouldn't be too hard to learn Java. I knew Python and C before learning Java. Loops, if/else statements, variables all work the same way in Java and Python, so being familiar with programming is going to come in handy.

My reccomendation is to download a Java Compiler along with SDK. The 2 most popular Java Compilers / IDEs are "Eclipse" and "NetBeans". I personally like Eclipse better than NetBeans, but they're both good.

Learn the syntax for the main java functions, like how to print a line (System.out.println()) etc. Learn how to declare scanners. Then look into the fundamentals of Object Oriented programming. You should learn about classes, polymorphism, and inheritance, those are the big topics in OOP.